It’s All about Relationships! (L-Team Kickoff – January 10th)

L-Teams

When the staff of theCross asked me to write a blog post about L-Teams, the first thing I did was ask my wife, Amanda, “What exactly is a blog?”  Of course I had heard of blogs (and even read one or two in the past), but until today, I have never written a blog post.  Amanda responded to my question by laughing at me and saying, “You know what a blog is!”  Well I wasn’t satisfied with her answer, so I decided to dig a little deeper.  Dictionary.com defines a blog as

noun

1. a website containing a writer’s or group of writers’ own experiences, observations, opinions, etc., and often having images and links to other websites

2. a single entry or post on such a website

It’s also a shortening of the word “weblog” (that’s a “web log”, not “we blog”).

So there you have it…and now without further delay or distraction…my very first weblog!

First of all, I want to express my deepest gratitude to all those who made it possible for me to be sitting here today as a professional church worker—a guy getting paid to write a blog!—a man humbly serving the Lord of Creation, and a servant following His true calling for my life, not just doing another job.  You know who you are, and I thank you for believing in me.

Now for the main point of this blog, L-Teams.  Why are L-Teams important?  L-Teams help the community, help people know more about God, help make Sunday mornings happen and help us have some fun too.  But the bottom line is this:  L-Teams help foster meaningful relationships between people.  And building relationships is absolutely vital to our Christian walk.  I can say with great confidence that throughout my life, my relationship with God has been at its strongest when my relationships with others are at their strongest.  My personal relationship with Jesus Christ is at its best when my sense of genuine community with others is at its best.

So that’s why I’ve been called here to theCross Mount Dora.  I am called to help people grow in their relationship with Jesus Christ by helping them develop and foster meaningful relationships with others.  This calling can and will be accomplished through the L-Team ministry.

As I was thinking about writing this blog, the same passage of Scripture kept coming to mind.  It’s Hebrews 10:24-25, which says, “And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds, not giving up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but encouraging one another—and all the more as you see the Day approaching.”  This verse really sums up L-Team ministry perfectly.  As Christians, we are called to love, do good deeds and encourage one another.  However, we can’t practice any of these things unless we are meeting together.  TheCross is kicking off another season of L-Teams on January 10th.  Don’t give up the habit of meeting together.  Please be a part of this dynamic ministry.

A hermit living alone in a cave somewhere may spend countless hours in prayer and time reading the Bible.  However, he or she will find it nearly impossible to love others, do good deeds, and encourage people.  Don’t be that hermit!  Get out of your cave!

Join an L-Team.  Lead an L-Team.  Invite your friends, family and neighbors to an L-Team.  Why?  Because it’s all about relationships!

Jacob works directly with the L-Team Captains and help to coordinate how the L-Teams function as an extention of theCross. Jacob is excited to become a part of the amazing ministries and community at theCross Mount Dora. Email him HERE!

2 thoughts on “It’s All about Relationships! (L-Team Kickoff – January 10th)

  1. Please make it easy for those who can’t be there for the kick off to sign up as well. We are looking forward to hearing about the new teams and want to join in.

Leave a Reply

