Unlimited Lego’s and Candy

There is a fascination with heaven. The latest movie about heaven, “Heaven is for Real,” in just three weeks, is already the 5th highest grossing Christian movie of all-time, only trailing “The Passion of the Christ” and the three “Chronicles of Narnia” movie. People want to talk about heaven. They want to think about.

Some people act like they know it all when it comes to heaven, others are very skeptical. I’ve never been too confident preaching or teaching on heaven because I don’t think I really understand and fathom much about heaven. I don’t have strong convictions on what I think about the book of Revelation. If I’m honest, it’s confusing to me! In other words, heaven is not my strength when it comes to theology. At the end of the day, all I can say about heaven is that it will be so much better than this world and the tragedy is when we start living in this world like this world is as good as it ‘s going to get! I was reminded of this by my kids.

Last week during our family breakfast I was reading the devotion for the day about King David’s death. After reading it I turned to my boys (Nathan, 6, and Brady, 3) and asked them where David was going to go after he dies. They both said “Heaven.” Brady looked at me and said, “Daddy, I don’t want to go heaven. I really like it here.” God has certainly blessed us here. He has provided for us, given us a great family, great house, great job, etc. But I turned to Brady and said, “As good as this world is, heaven is going to be so much better!” Nathan then tells Brady, “Brady, heaven is going to be so much better. In heaven you get to eat as much candy as you want and never get a tummy ache. And you get to have as many Lego sets as you want because they are all free.”

I don’t know if that’s what heaven will be like, but I don’t think it’s a bad description. For a 3 year old and a 6 year old, unlimited Lego sets and candy is about as good as it gets. In this world, candy is great, but if you eat a lot of it you will be sick. If you continue to eat a lot of it, you will be terribly unhealthy and overweight. For two little boys, Lego sets are about as good as it gets as well. But in this world, Lego sets cost a lot. A ridiculous amount. Trust me, I would know…I research Lego sets and prices very often trying to get the best deals for my boys. I’ve even bought and sold Lego sets for higher when I’ve found a really good deal. Lego sets and candy will always be in demand for as much as there are children in this world (and let’s be honest, we adults like these things too)!

Nathan was describing for Brady in a way that I couldn’t is that this world doesn’t even compare to the next. It’s not even close. And he was spot on! Heaven is so much better than this world!

It’s fine to think this world is really great. In fact, it is! And it’s awesome when people see this life as a gift and a blessing. And while it’s cute and innocent for a 3 year old (especially my 3-year old) to say “I really like it here,” it’s actually kind of sad and depressing if when thinking of heaven, you are fearful of heaven because of how much you like it in this world.

Too many of us get wrapped up in this world and we think this is all there is or this is as good as it’s going to get. We start living for ourselves and for this world. We try to build ourselves little kingdoms in this world, make as much money as possible, set ourselves up as well as we can so that we are comfortable, secure, and happy. We do things to our bodies in order to look better now in this world when we have the hope of a glorified, resurrected body to come. We strive to build as big of a house now in this world as we can when we have the hope that we will one day be housed in our Father’s mansion in heaven.

Rather than living for this world, remember Paul’s words in Philippians 3:20-21: 20 But our citizenship is in heaven. And we eagerly await a Savior from there, the Lord Jesus Christ, 21 who, by the power that enables him to bring everything under his control, will transform our lowly bodies so that they will be like his glorious body.

We will be with Jesus one day. And while I can’t tell you many specifics of what heaven will be like, that’s one thing that I am so looking forward to! I believe that when we see Jesus, nothing else will really matter. All the Lego’s and candy we thought might be in heaven won’t matter anymore. May you remember that heaven awaits for all those that believe in Jesus and have received His grace! We are only here temporarily. This life is just a fraction of our eternal life that we will spend in heaven.

Examine your life and ask, “Are you living like this is all there is or are you living like heaven is for real?” What changes need to be made in your life to reflect that heaven is real? If heaven were real, would that make you more kind, more loving, more generous? Would you tell more people about Jesus and His grace?

Will there really be unlimited Lego’s and Candy? Will the Browns finally win a Super Bowl? What’s heaven going to be like? What do you think? Post your comments and questions below.

One thought on “Unlimited Lego’s and Candy

  1. I don’t know what it’s going to be like. What I know from reading the Bible is that Jesus promises that we will be in Paradise. When he told the man on the cross next to him who repented, “That you will be with me in Paradise”. I cannot comprehend what that will be like, but I think it will be amazing. Your Grandfather in his video said he couldn’t wait to find out.

Leave a Reply

