The Secret to Comfort

Comfort is a huge thing.  People pay a lot of money to be comfortable today.  People will spring for the La-Z-Boy over the generic brand because La-Z-Boy has a reputation built on comfort.  Today, we buy beds that can be adjusted to whatever “number” your comfort level might be.  We can turn our houses whatever temperature we want.  Even most of the cars that are made today allow each person to turn it to whatever temperature they want.

Like most of you, I love to be comfortable.  When I go to sleep at night, I have three pillows.  I have a fancy Tempur-pedic pillow underneath my head when I sleep, a pillow that goes between my knees (a must have!), and one more to cuddle in the arms.  I have a fan blowing right on my face and usually a couple of soft blankets.  I’m getting a little sleep right now as I type!

Despite all the money we pay and all the things we do to try to be comfortable, then why do so many of us feel uncomfortable in this world?  We have this constant feeling like something is just not right or that we’re missing out on something. We may be physically comfortable, maybe even financially comfortable, mentally comfortable, etc.; yet, there is something inside of us that reminds us and hounds us that something isn’t right.  We are constantly uncomfortable.  What are we missing?

My youth pastor told me something that I’ll never forget.  He said: “If you’ve been called by God to do something, and you are running from it, you will never be comfortable.”  I believe this statement applies to all of us: Not just to those who are called into ministry, but those who are called to be a good family member, a loving neighbor, a faithful employee, a forgiving friend, etc.  All of us have been called by God to share and practice his love and grace in this world, and when we don’t we are not comfortable.  When we run from God and His will, we are always going to have something inside of us that feels like we are missing out and that something isn’t right.

Let me tell you how this has worked out in my life.  I felt called by God to go into ministry in between my 9th and 10th grade years.  Slowly I drifted from that call.  I got wrapped up into visions and dreams of making it in the secular world.  I wasn’t a bad kid.  I wasn’t in the party scene.  I didn’t have sex.  I didn’t drink alcohol.  But I drifted.  And something inside of me didn’t feel right.  But I didn’t change.  I kept pursuing, dreaming, and chasing after the things of this world rather than things of God.

Weeks before college started, God used a near-death experience in my life for me to finally give my life over to Him and follow after Him the way He wanted me to.  I enrolled in pastoral ministry and began taking courses on theology and the Bible.  I learned about God and ministry.  And wouldn’t you know it, the day I decided to follow after Jesus and give my life fully to Him, all of a sudden it became my dream to be a pastor, to have a church, and to lead others to know and believe in Jesus.

I have found out the secret to comfort is the flip-side of what my youth pastor told me.  When you’ve been called by God to do something, and you are doing it, you feel very comfortable.  There are still hard days and hard times, moments where I’m in over my head, moments where I’m not sure what at all I’m doing, many moments where I am unsure why God wants me to pastor a church, but in the midst of all these days and moments, there is still a sense of peace and comfort that I have.

If you’ve looking for real comfort, you won’t find it in the things of this world.  You will only find it when you do what God asks you to do.  It won’t be perfect. There will be hard times.  But I guarantee you that even in the midst of those difficult times; something will feel right about it.  You will have the peace that passes all understanding.

So what has God called you to do?  What opportunities has He put in front of you that haven’t fulfilled?  What are you running from?  Share below what you are called to do and how we can pray for you.  Follow after Jesus and you will find the comfort that you’ve been always been looking for.

To close, be encouraged with the following verses from 2 Corinthians 1:3-4: Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves receive from God.

Leave a Reply

