Common and Ordinary Ain’t Always Bad!

Over the last couple of days I’ve had the chance to just sit and read God’s Word. I read through the entire book of Acts. You should try it…it doesn’t take too long. It’s something that as your pastor I should be doing a lot of. But to be honest, I get so caught up in daily tasks, that many times at the end of the day I forget to spend time with the God that created me and sent His Son for me. Sometimes even these tasks are good tasks and they lead me into the Word, for instance, preparing a Bible study, crafting a sermon, etc. But it’s been hard, lately, to find time to just sit at the feet of the Rabbi and listen and learn from Him.

But I’ve been refreshed by reading through this book which tells us of the early church and how it started. I love the book of Acts because so much is happening in it. I think I read four or five accounts where God busted his apostles out of prison, two people were raised from the dead by the power of the Holy Spirit in the apostles, many more were healed, some died for their belief in Christ, thousands of people were believed and baptized, and the Gospel message spread throughout much of the world. All in 28 Chapters!

The thing I love most about the book of Acts is that you and I are much like these men and women that changed the church. They were flawed. They were outspoken. They got into disagreements. They showed favorites. They were ordinary. They were unschooled. That’s what Acts 4:13 tells us anyway:

“Now when they saw the boldness of Peter and John, and perceived that they were uneducated, common (ordinary) men, they were astonished. And they recognized that they had been with Jesus.”

Common, ordinary men speaking boldly on behalf of Jesus astonishing the leaders of the day and people of great power. That doesn’t happen very often that common, ordinary people making a big difference and getting powerful people to stop in their tracks and be astonished by what you say. That’s like if I were to go up and say something to a leader of our day: (insert your favorite leader here) and them to stop and be astonished at what I want to tell them.

And that’s really the heart of this book: That if you want to be a person that makes a difference and even astonishes others in the world you first have to be with Jesus. You have to be with, spend time with, encounter, and believe in Jesus. And if you can do this, then God could be ready to change the world through you.

Do you believe that? If not, read through the book of Acts and tell me why not?

Leave a Reply

