Time to Make a Joyful Noise

There are so many un-joyful noises in the world out there today.  So many noises that just annoy, bother, complicate, or distract me from where I want to go.  Can you think of any in your life?  Maybe it’s a commercial promoting a product, a song you hate that is way overplayed, a whine from one of your children, or a hurtful thing someone has said to you.  I wonder what God thinks when he hears us sometimes.  Many times I’m sure I’m making anything but a joyful noise in front of Him. But I’ve got news for you: It’s time to make a joyful noise!

As I’m sitting here with just one more night before our first worship gathering, I came across a Psalm that reminds me why we are getting togehter for worship. 

Psalm 95:1-7 says,
1
Oh come, let us sing to the LORD;
   let us make a joyful noise to the rock of our salvation!
2Let us come into his presence with thanksgiving;
   let us make a joyful noise to him with songs of praise!
3For the LORD is a great God,
   and a great King above all gods.
4In his hand are the depths of the earth;
   the heights of the mountains are his also.
5The sea is his, for he made it,
   and his hands formed the dry land.
 6Oh come, let us worship and bow down;
   let us kneel before the LORD, our Maker!
7For he is our God,
   and we are the people of his pasture,
   and the sheep of his hand.

He truly is worth it.  At the end of the day, there’s a lot of good things in the world, but I can honestly tell you, God deserves a joyful noise and we hope to give it to Him Sunday at 10AM at our first worship gathering at theCross.  Clearly, I don’t mean to say that we can’t make joyful noises outside of Sunday morning worship, but I do think that as joyful of a noise one of us can make on our own, when we are all making a noise in unison with one another, combined with the talents and gifts of those that can sing well and play instruments well, I believe that makes our God very happy!  That is his ultimate desire, you know, that all would make that joyful cry out to Him as their God.  That’s all he’s ever wanted:  I’ll be your God and you be my people.  It’s exciting to get to be His people together and I can’t wait to see you Sunday!

Leave a Reply

